Songs That Mean a Lot to Me

Well I was reading my friend Sarah’s blog and she took some of her favorite songs and explained why she loved these songs.  I decided to steal her idea and do the same exact thing.  So I give some credit to Sarah for this!

Ok well I went through some of my favorite songs over the years and I came up with two that have a lot of meaning to me.  Although my interpretation of the meanings behind these songs may not be correct, only the writer knows the true meaning.  The two songs I picked are Walk On by U2 and Say by John Mayer.  I’ll start with Walk On.  I don’t know if you have ever heard this song but it is such an inspirational song and gets me thinking everytime I listen to it.  This song is all about not letting things get you down and just continuing on with life no matter what.  One of my favorite lines in the song is “And I know it aches
How your heart it breaks
You can only take so much

Walk on”

This line is saying that sometimes we will be heart broken and the only thing we can do is walk on!  Just keep going no matter what, don’t dwell on the past.  I also think this song speaks of Heaven:

“And love
Is not the easy thing
The only baggage you can bring
Is all that you can’t leave behind”

I think he is talking about going to Heaven because love is the only thing that can be brought to heaven – It’s all that you can’t leave behind.

“You’re packing a suitcase for a place
None of us has been
A place that has to be believed
To be seen”

The only way to ever see heaven is to believe in God’s plan for us.  So yah, thats my interpretation of Walk On by U2.

Now I want to give you my interpretation of John Mayers hit song Say.  I think this is how most people would interpret the song but either way it is an amazing song.

“It’s better to say to much, than to never say what you need to say”

Mayer is trying to say that we can’t live our lives hiding all of our ideas and emotion in our head.  We need to open up to the world, to our friends, to our family and say what we have to say.  We can’t keep all of our emotions and thoughts locked up, what good is that?

“Even if your hands are shaking
And your faith is broken
Even as the eyes are closing
Do it with a heart wide open”

Sure, everyone gets nervous about telling people what they TRULY think and believe.  But never telling anyone isn’t going to help.  Also, make sure you say it with a heart wide open.

So there you go.  Those are two of my favorite songs and two songs that have a lot of meaning to me.  I hope you took something from this!

-AG

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Songs That Mean a Lot to Me

  1. Thanks for the “some credit”! And I liked your explanation of these songs. Lol.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

