Nostalgia.

A Different Perspective.

Nostalgia has to be one of the most intricate yet simple feelings. One simple reminder of a time and place that you once existed in can cause so much emotion to rush through you and bring back all these memories and ideas you had almost forgotten. Yearning is a perfect to describe how a moment like that can feel. An intense or overpowering desire to be in that existence one again. But does nostalgia only deal with the past?

One of my favorite artists is Justin Vernon also known as Bon Iver. His music is just so complex and to me and it is incredibly pieced together, the vocals, the instruments, the effects. Everything just comes together. But there is something different about Bon Iver, his music is not just pleasant to the ear, it is pleasant to the soul. I become lost when listening to some of his music and the only way I’ve thought to describe this feeling is nostalgia for a time and place that I have not existed in yet. It’s a hard concept to grasp but when you really think about it, it makes sense. The words and the notes being used in this kind of music take me away to a place in my mind that I have never been and I begin to have a longing and a desire for that certain place or time, but this is a place I have never ventured to before, so how can I yearn to go back to that place and time? Well nostalgia is sentimental, meaning it relies on emotion rather than reason. So all these built up emotions for that place that I emotionally created through the music can cause me to feel that nostalgia like feeling. I could imagine that someone who has not experienced this feeling to the full extent may not understand what I am getting at here, but to me it is a thought that returns to my mind often and I wanted to share it with you, maybe I’m not the only one.

That’s my daily thought. Thanks for reading.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

